FOLK SINGING IS IN! MY OPERATIC SINGING DAYS ARE OVER!

By WEB Claus:

Folk Singing

_______________________________________________________________________________

I use to do a lot of operatic singing when I was younger. I began to take private voice training in 1982 while I was living in the Anaheim/Orange County Area. I took voice training for almost 10 years off and on, and most of it was from an Opera Singer. I started to develop somewhat of a operatic voice. From 1984 to 1987, I performed with the Master Chorale of Orange County. A Master Chorale (Or just “Chorale“) is more-less “Minor League” to the opera. I was even in an opera once myself in December 1986 (“Amahl and the Night Visitors.”). For a long time I sang operatic solos in church, and sang the National Anthem at events including Professional Minor League Sports. As I began to get up in years, my voice was not as strong as it use to be. In the late 1990’s, I began to tone down my solos to Folk Singing, Campfire Singing, and Folk Gospel. As a Church Soloist, I was put out to pasture at my church in Huntington Beach, California around 2008. The only time I do much operatic singing now is when I sing our National Anthem, or upon occasion, when I sing one of my favorite show-tunes, “Old Man River” (From Showboat). But today, I am not do that very often.

Thursday Night, January 18, 2024; I was invited to a Business Owners Karaoke Singing Event (Authors are considered Business Owners) at Buzzed Crow Bistro Bar and Grill. Most of the time when I have done Karaoke Singing at Buzzed Crow, I sang Folk Songs and Western Songs. That Thursday Night, I decided to bring back operatic singing. It sounded okay Thursday Night, but on the following Friday my throat was somewhat irritated and when I woke up on the morning (Saturday), it had become infected and now I ended up with laryngitis. I do know that as much as I miss it, my operatic singing days are indeed over (I will be 70 this year). I can still do Folk Song Solos and Folk Gospel Solos, and yes, Cantor Solos, but I can’t do a lot of Operatic Singing, at least not too often. In fact, my two Digital Record Albums are mostly Folk Singing and Folk Gospel. I will be sticking with Folk Songs whenever I sing Karaoke at Buzzed Crow Bistro, and Folk Gospel when I sing solos in Sunday Morning Worship, and I will still continue to inspire a lot of people and make a difference.

BOOK COVER

Leave a comment