A Change of Heart

Published in “W.E.B. Tales” by William Edwin Baxter

      

Two years after I moved from Orange County, CA; to Colorado, I was hired by a company called Service Source Inc. in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Service Source is a company which is contracted by The United States Army, and they hire people with disabilities to work as Civilian Contract Workers in the Dining Facilities out at Fort Carson, Colorado. These include people who are developmentally disabled, and people who are crippled. I (Bill Baxter) fall into both of these categories. I have worked for Service Source for 5 1/2 years, and this has been the best job I have ever had. But, here’s the kicker! When I first moved to Colorado a few years ago, I didn’t even want to find a job. I had my heart set on an early retirement on Social Security Disability (S.S.D.I.). So, what brought about the “Change of Heart” which perpetuated my 5 1/2 of the most successful years I have ever spent in the workforce, and what motivated me to carry on after I was hired by Service Source? This is the story which I would like to share with you.

        My dad and I first arrived in Colorado Springs, CO; from Orange County, CA; on August 14, 2010. We settled into the Cheyenne Place Retirement Community where I had hoped to live out the rest of my life. However, my father passed away a little over a year later, so I had to move out of Cheyenne Place. While I was living at Cheyenne Place, I went online and filled out the forms for collecting Social Security Disability (that’s S.S.D.I.). The process took close to a year. Almost a year later, The Social Security Administration (S.S.A.) turned me down. A Social worker helped me to appeal the decision before a judge appointed by S.S.A. in May 2012; but, the judge upheld the decision, and I was turned down a second time. The thing of the matter is this: I have Tourette Syndrome, which is a developmental disability; But, it is not on S.S.A.’s list of disabilities which they consider when awarding S.S.D.I. to someone. I was also a Forceps Baby when I was born, but the records documenting me being a Forceps Baby were lost long ago, so I was dead in the water there.

         Fortunately, my social worker also had me sign up with the Colorado State Dept. of Vocational Rehabilitation (That’s D.V.R.) as a back-up plan. D.V.R. helps individuals with disabilities find and maintain suitable employment. So I registered with D.V.R., and I was assigned to a couple of job coaches–a partnership of Jennifer Bailey and Carol Collins who worked with D.V.R. It was Carol Collins who pointed me in the direction of Service Source Inc. One day, Carol Collins took me to the Service Source Office, and I filled out an application and began the process of getting hired on by Service Source Inc. As I sat in that Service Source Office, I soon learned that I would be working as a Civilian out on a Military Installation. 

         I began to ponder some times when I often thought about family tree members and friends who have served in The Military. I especially thought about my Uncle Eugene Baxter, who served as a Medic in the Solomon Islands during WWII. Uncle Gene was dubbed in the Pages of WWII History as “The Guadalcanal Hero” because he performed acts of heroism and saved a lot of lives. Eventually, Uncle Gene, like many brave soldiers and sailors throughout history, sacrificed his own life to save the life of a wounded comrade, and to preserve our Freedom and Democracy we share here in America. 

      I have also thought about other family and friends who have served in The Military, and the recognition they often got on days like Veteran’s Day or Memorial Day. The more I thought of them, the more I felt that I really missed out on something here in my life, even though I would have been 4-F for sure because of my disabilities and other medical issues (4-F meant that The Military can’t use you).  Then I thought about my mother who worked as a Civilian for the U.S. Army just prior to The U.S.’ entry into WWII. Then I thought: “If only I could have worked as a Civilian on a U.S. Military Installation, I could have at least been part of all this somehow.” Well, that opportunity stared me right in the face right there in that Service Source Office, and I was not about to let that slip through my fingers! And so, my desire for Early Retirement on SSDI; clean flew out the window.

        A “Change of Heart” had transpired, and I wanted that job more than anything! The Service Source Office Staff saw this, and they had no problem hiring me. My first day of employment as a Civilian Contract worker was (believe it or not) Patriot Day–Sept. 11, 2012.

        During these last 5 1/2 years working as a Civilian Contract work out at The Army Post, my biggest motivation and goal (even over my paycheck, work status and other fringe benefits) has been serving the troops out at Fort Carson. Because, like my Uncle Gene over 70 years ago, these young soldiers have put a lot on the line and have sacrificed  a lot to preserve our Freedom and Democracy here in America. Some of the soldiers have even been deployed to Afghanistan to fight in the War against Terrorism which threatens to undo our Freedom and Democracy. Some have even sacrificed their lives. Knowing all this has made me feel proud to carry out my duties out at Fort Carson, has made me look forward to getting up early and going to work every morning (a half an hour before the morning bugle call) and has helped me to take the bad with the good, as far as the job goes (yes, even the coffee in the mess hall). The more I focused on serving the troops, the more it began to show in my work performance and attitude which did not go un-noticed by the Office Staff and the Shift Supervisors.  Soon other company benefits, such as “Awards” began to fall into place.

      I have received at least three awards since I started working for Service Source. The first award I received was the “On the Sport Award” for doing a good job. The second award I received was the “Going Above and Beyond Award” which I received at an Annual Christmas Party, and the third award I received was the “President’s Team Award for Service Excellence” which I received at an Annual Awards Banquet which they have every summer.  I sang The National Anthem at two of those Awards Banquets, including the one where I received the award. Two months after I received the President’s Team Award, the company took a photo of me for a poster which has been used for hiring campaigns and job fairs. I was chosen out of over 200 employees for that honor. All and all, working for Service source and serving the Troops out at Fort Carson these last 5 1/2 years has been a very rewarding experience in more ways than one.

My Retirement Day will be on December 11, 2020. Until then, I look forward to a couple of more years of serving the Troops out at Fort Carson and paying tribute to our U.S. Armed Forces. GOD BLESS AMERICA!

************************************************

Leave a comment